Affiliate Authors earn 20% — Learn more

Thank You, Omu! by Mora, Oge

Thank You, Omu!

$18.99

Oge Mora

In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?

Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.



Binding Type: Hardcover
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 10/02/2018
ISBN: 9780316431248
Pages: 40
Weight: 1.05lbs
Size: 11.31h x 9.38w x 0.50d
Award: John Steptoe New Talent Award - Winner
Award: Caldecott Medal - Honor Book

Review Citations: Shelf Awareness 10/12/2018
Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2018 pg. 65
School Library Journal 07/01/2018 pg. 55
Booklist 07/01/2018 pg. 68
Kirkus Reviews 08/15/2018 pg. 182
Publishers Weekly 08/27/2018
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Superior,Well Above Average

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 199108 / Thank You, Omu!
Reading Level: 3.2 / Interest Level: Lower Grade / Point Value: 0.5