Affiliate Authors earn 20% — Learn more

A Burning by Majumdar, Megha

A Burning

$25.95

Megha Majumdar

Longlisted for the 2020 National Book Award
A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan's fall. Lovely--an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the novel with warmth and hope and humor--has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear.

Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening lines, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels like to face profound obstacles and yet nurture big dreams in a country spinning toward extremism. An extraordinary debut.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Publisher: Knopf Publishing Group
Published: 06/02/2020
ISBN: 9780525658696
Pages: 304
Weight: 0.90lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.20w x 1.30d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2020
Publishers Weekly 04/06/2020